This article is also available in:
After a customer places an order, the merchant can edit it by adjusting item quantity, removing items, and changing product variant upon requests. You need to review the new order total amount to ensure that it is correct after you edit an order. If the total amount changes, you will need to charge or refund your customer the cost difference. In this article, we will show you how to edit an order and review your changes on ShopBase.

In this article

A. Requirements
B. Edit an order
C. Review and update the edited order
D. FAQs when editing an order

A. Requirements

You can edit orders in the following conditions:

You are store owner or have the Edit orders permission. Please refer to this article for more information about staff accounts and permissions.
Orders that was placed less than 60 days ago.
Orders that does NOT have the following fulfillment statuses: Fulfilled, Partially Fulfilled, Processing, Awaiting Stock.
PrintHub orders that does NOT have the following fulfillment statuses: Awaiting Payment, Fulfilled.
Orders that does NOT have the following payment statuses: Void, Partially Refunded, Refunded, Payment in process.

B. Edit an order

Order editing can have an impact on your store's apps and processes. Before editing orders in your store, please read this article for more information.
You cannot edit post-purchase line items in an order.


From your ShopBase admin site, go to Orders > All orders and select the order you want to edit.


In the order detail page, click on More actions > Edit order.


In the new page, you can edit the order items to:

Adjust quantity: Adjust the number of item.


In the pop-up, enter a new item quantity and click Confirm.


Remove item: Remove an item. In the pop-up, click Confirm.


This action is not available if the order has only one line item. You can only adjust the line item's quantity, or change the line item's variant.
Change variant: Change the product variant.


In the pop-up, select the new product variant and click Confirm.


In Reason for edit, you can add a note about the edit. This note is shown in the order timeline and won't be seen by your customer.


After you finish editing the order, review and update the order.

C. Review and update the edited order

After you edit an order, you need to review the updated total to ensure that it is correct. Depending on the changes you made, the total cost of the order may differ from what your customer paid at checkout.

After you edit an order, do one of the following:

If the order total increases, you can collect payment from your customer.
If the order total decreases, you can refund the remainder to your customer.
If there is no change to the order total, you can notify your customer of the edit.

Please refer to this article to see the formula used to recalculate the order total of an edited order.

If the order total increases

If the cost of the edited order increases, the order payment status will be changed to Pending and you need to collect payment from your customer. The Summary section shows that there is an Amount to collect.



You can send an invoice to your customer with a link to the checkout page so that the customer can finish their payment. Check Send invoice to customer and click Send invoice to finish updating the order. The invoice will be automatically sent to your customer via email once the order is updated.


You can disable Send invoice to customer and click Update order. Your customer will not receive the email notification when the order is updated.



Then, on the order detail page, you can:

Click Send invoice to send your customer their invoice along with the checkout link via email.
Click Share checkout link to copy the link and send it to the customer later.


If the order total decreases

If the total cost of the edited order decreases, you need to update the order and issue your customer a refund. The Summary section shows the Updated total and Paid by customer for you to calculate the refund amount.

By default, your customer is sent a notification about the edit. If you don’t want to send your customer a notification that the order has changed, uncheck Notify buyers about update.


Click Update order to finish updating the order.



The refund is not complete when you send your customer a notification. You need to manually refund your customer after you update the order.
From the order detail page, click Refund item.


Enter the Refund amount and fill in information if needed. Please refer to this article for more information on how to refund an order.



If there is no change to the order total

If the order cost hasn’t changed, there is no action required to refund or collect payment.

By default, your customer is sent a notification about the edit. If you don’t want to send your customer a notification, uncheck Notify buyers about update.


Click Update order to finish updating the order.



D. FAQs when editing an order

1. Why don't I have the option to edit an order?

You might not be able to edit an order because the order does not meet the requirements as specified in section A.

2. Can I restrict staff permissions for order editing?

Yes. Staff accounts need the Edit orders permission. You can disable the Edit orders permission for staff accounts that you don't want to edit orders. Please refer to this article for more information about staff accounts and permissions.

3. What happens if a staff starts an edit while another staff is already editing it?

Multiple staff accounts can make edits and update an order at the same time. The changes made in each edit are applied to the order. If edits conflict, the most recent edit is applied to the order.

Related articles

Overview of Orders
Possible impacts of order editing
View an order
View an order's timeline
Refund an order
Add and manage staff accounts on ShopBase
Was this article helpful?
Cancel
Thank you!