This article is also available in:
One of the biggest problems for sellers is that receiving a large amount of payment (for example: a winning campaign, sales periods) can be a sign of fraud to payment gateways. Payment rotation is an awesome solution to split this risk across multiple payment accounts, and even if one account is disabled, customers can still check out with other payment accounts.

Cancellation and refund requests will be sent to the correct payment methods. With PayPal, tracking numbers will be automatically updated to the methods that received the order's payment. Please refer to this article about how to send tracking to PayPal automatically.

In this article, we will give you an overview of payment method rotation and how it works on your store.

In this article

A. Connect your payment methods
B. Set rules to rotate payment methods
C. What happens when a payment method is disabled?

A. Connect your payment methods

Before you start, it's required that you have connected the payment methods to your store. Please refer to this article for more information.

You need to fill in a name for the payment account when activating a new one. This name will be shown on order detail page and on CSV file when you export orders to indicate which account received the payment.

Payment method name on Order detail page

B. Set rules to rotate payment accounts

Accounts in the Accept credit cards section (including Stripe, PayPal Pro, Braintree, Unlimint, Checkout.com, ShopBase Payments, and ShopBase Marketplace Payments) and PayPal section will be switched within the same section.



Payment accounts within the same section will be switched per checkout session (including successful, unsuccessful, and abandoned checkout sessions). For example, the first checkout session will be paid with the first payment account you connected, followed by the second payment account for the next checkout session, and so on.



This rotation mode will be automatically activated when you add the second payment account. Kindly remember to activate your payment account after adding a new one to your account list. Only accounts that are activated (with a green button on) could receive payments.

C. What happens when a payment account is disabled?

When one payment account is disabled on your store, new visitors on the checkout page will find other conditionally rotated payment methods. In case the payment account is disabled right when a visitor is checking out, they will see a warning as follows to refresh their page and be directed to another available account.



To delete the disabled account from your account list, please go to your ShopBase admin site > Settings > Payment providers > Click on account you want to remove > Deactivate.



Related articles

Overview of Payment
Was this article helpful?
Cancel
Thank you!